ICC Cricket World Cup Hosts Countries

The International Cricket Council’s executive committee votes for the hosts of the tournament after examining the bids made by the nations keen to hold a Cricket World Cup. All the World Cup events so far have been held in nations in which cricket is a popular sport. Most of the tournaments have been jointly hosted by nations from the same geographical region, such as South Asia in 1987, 1996, and 2011 and Australasia in 1992, Southern Africa in 2003 and West Indies in 2007.

England have hosted the most World Cups – a total of 4 (including the first three World Cups). They hosted it in 1975, 1979, 1983, 1999 and will host their fifth in 2019. England are also the only nation to have hosted a World Cup alone, doing it in 1975 and 1979. In 1983 & 1999, despite being regarded as the only host for the tournament, some matches were played in Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland and Wales. The West Indies hosted the tournament in 2007 but are not considered as sole hosts because the West Indies represents a sporting confederation of 15 mainly English-speaking Caribbean countries, British dependencies and non-British dependencies.

1975 England
1979 England
1983 England
1987 India and  Pakistan
1992 Australia and  New Zealand
1996 India,  Pakistan and  Sri Lanka
1999 England,  Ireland,  Netherlands,  Scotland and  Wales
2003 South Africa,  Kenya and  Zimbabwe
2007 West Indies
2011 India, Bangladesh and  Sri Lanka
2015 Australia and  New Zealand
2019 England and  Wales
2023 India

Hosts Selection

1975, 1979 and 1983 Cricket World Cups

England hosted the first three competitions. The ICC decided that England should host the first tournament because it was ready to put the resources needed in organising the inaugural event. India proposed that it should host the third Cricket World Cup, but most ICC members believed England was a more suitable venue because longer period of daylight in June. This meant that a match could be completed in one day.

1975, 1979 & 1983 Host: England †In 1983, England are considered as sole hosts. However, one match was played in Swansea, Wales.

1987 Cricket World Cup

The first competition hosted outside England was the 1987 Cricket World Cup, which was jointly held in India and Pakistan. A change in location led to a reduction in the number of overs from sixty to fifty in each innings because of the shorter duration of daylight.

1987 Hosts: India and  Pakistan

2007 Cricket World Cup

The World Cup was awarded to the West Indies via the International Cricket Council’s rotational policy. It was the first time the Cricket World Cup had been held in the Caribbean despite the fact that the West Indies cricket team had been the second most successful team in past World Cups. Bermuda and the United States unsuccessfully bid for the right to host matches.

2007 Hosts: West Indies

2011, 2015 and 2019 Cricket World Cups

2011 Bids:

  •  Australia and  New Zealand
  •  Bangladesh,  India,  Pakistan and  Sri Lanka

The ICC originally announced its decision which countries would host the 2011 World Cup on 30 April 2006. Australia and New Zealand’s bid for the tournament was the only bid for 2011 delivered to ICC headquarters in Dubai ahead of the 1 March deadline.

ICC President Ehsan Mani said the extra time taken by the Asian bloc to hand over its bid compliance book had harmed the four-nation bid. However, when the time came to vote, Asia won the hosting rights by ten votes to three. The Pakistan Cricket Board revealed that it was the vote of the West Indies Cricket Board that swung the matter, as the Asian bid had the support of the four bidding countries along with South Africa and Zimbabwe. It was reported in Pakistani newspaper Dawn that the Asian countries promised to hold fund-raising events for West Indian cricket during the 2007 World Cup, which may have influenced the vote. However, chairman of the Monitoring Committee of the Asian bid, I. S. Bindra, said it was their promise of extra profits in the region of US$400 million that swung the vote, that there “was no quid pro quo for their support”, and that playing the West Indies had “nothing to do with the World Cup bid”.

After missing out on 2011, Australia and New Zealand were awarded the 2015 World Cup. England was awarded the 2019 event as part of rotational policy.

2011 Voting Result:

  1.  Bangladesh,  India,  Pakistan and  Sri Lanka, 10 votes
  2.  Australia and  New Zealand, 3 votes

Pakistan stripped of co-host status

Pakistan was stripped of its rights as co-host of the 2011 World Cup by the ICC on 17 April 2009due to ongoing concerns about the “uncertain security situation” prevailing in the country, especially in the aftermath of the 2009 attack on the Sri Lanka national cricket team in Lahore On 9 April 2009, PCB chairman Ijaz Butt revealed that they had issued a legal notice to oppose ICC’s decision.However, the ICC claims that PCB is still a co-host and they have only shifted the matches out of Pakistan.Pakistan had proposed that South Africa host the 2015 World Cup and Australia/New Zealand host 2011, however this option did not find favour with their co-hosts and hence didn’t materialise.

2011 Hosts: Bangladesh,  India and  Sri Lanka

2015 Hosts: Australia and  New Zealand awarded after losing the 2011 hosting bid

2019 Host: England awarded as per rotational policy


Related Posts with Thumbnails

.huge-it-share-buttons {
border:0px solid #0FB5D6;
text-align:left; }

#huge-it-share-buttons-top {margin-bottom:0px;}
#huge-it-share-buttons-bottom {margin-top:0px;}

.huge-it-share-buttons h3 {
font-size:25px ;
font-family:Arial,Helvetica Neue,Helvetica,sans-serif;

display:block; line-height:25px ;

text-align:left; }

.huge-it-share-buttons ul {
float:left; }

.huge-it-share-buttons ul li {
border:0px ridge #E6354C;

.huge-it-share-buttons ul li #backforunical9849 {
border-bottom: 0;

.front-shares-count {
position: absolute;
text-align: center;
display: block;

.shares_size20 .front-shares-count {
font-size: 10px;
top: 10px;
width: 20px;

.shares_size30 .front-shares-count {
font-size: 11px;
top: 15px;
width: 30px;

.shares_size40 .front-shares-count {
font-size: 12px;
top: 21px;
width: 40px;
https://guidepk.info/icc-cricket-world-cup-hosts-countries.htm2016-06-11T19:20:06+00:00Mohsin JavaidSports and GamesThe International Cricket Council’s executive committee votes for the hosts of the tournament after examining the bids made by the nations keen to hold a Cricket World Cup. All the World Cup events so far have been held in nations in which cricket is a popular sport. Most of…Mohsin Javaidjust_foryou@msn.comAdministratorGuidepk.infoStay Updated With Latest Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *